Amnesty International Australia Media Awards 2017: Now open for entries

Amnesty International Australia has launched its 2017 Media Awards recognising excellence in reporting on human rights issues in the Australian media.

See above for this year’s ad, featuring some of last year’s finalists.

Journalists, photographers, cartoonists and their editors and producers are invited to enter items published or broadcast between 1 August 2016 and 1 August 2017.

The Amnesty Media Awards, now in their fourth year, recognise those who hold the powerful to account and amplify the voices of the vulnerable.

In an era of fake news, alternative facts and attacks on journalists’ integrity and ability to carry out their jobs, Amnesty International recognises courageous work carried out under difficult circumstance. Now more than ever, it is vital to support journalists who are shining a light on human rights abuses.

2017 Judges:

Eighteen distinguished professionals from the industry will judge the six categories. The categories and judges are:

Indigenous Issues Reporting: Daniel Browning: Awaye! (ABC RN) – Presenter; Tanya Denning Orman: NITV – Channel Manager; Bernard Namok: TEABBA (Top End Aboriginal Bush Broadcasting Association) – Senior broadcaster/trainer.

Print/Online/Multimedia: Danielle Cronin: The Brisbane Times – Editor; Melissa Hoyer: – Editor at Large; Lenore Taylor: Guardian Australia – Editor.

Radio: Andrew Bolton: SBS Arabic 24 – Program Manager; Patricia Karvelas: ABC Radio National – Presenter; Melanie Withnall: CBAA (Community Broadcasting Association of Australia) – board member, 2SER – Station Manager.

Television: Samantha Maiden: Sky News Australia – Presenter; Kumi Taguchi: ABC – Host ‘Compass’; Michael Usher: Channel Seven News – Presenter.

Photography: Neil Bennett: The Daily and Sunday Telegraph – Head of Vision; Mags King: Fairfax – Managing Editor of Photography; Dean Sewell: Freelance – Photographer & founding Member of Occuli.

Cartoon: Judy Horacek: Freelance – Cartoonist; Mick Horne: Freelance – Cartoonist; David Pope: The Canberra Times – Cartoonist.


26 June: Entries open

2 August: Entries close

27 September: Finalists announced

1 November: Media Awards ceremony in Sydney

To enter and for further information, including the entry criteria and process, visit For any other queries, please email