Media Awards 2021

Entries are now closed. 

The Amnesty International Australia Media Awards are held to recognise excellence in reporting of human rights issues in the Australian media.

Each year the awards acknowledge those Australian media stories that have presented a fair and balanced report of a human rights issue, highlighted hidden abuses and encouraged an audience’s greater understanding of a human rights issue.

Entrants are invited to submit for one of six categories:

  • Cartoon
  • Indigenous Issues Reporting
  • Photography
  • Print/Online Media
  • Radio
  • Television

With a work that has been published or broadcast in Australia, in an Australian media outlet, or in the Australian branch of an international outlet, between 1st January 2020 and 18th August 2021.

All entries will be assessed by a panel of three judges with expertise and experience in the relevant media. Finalists will be announced in October, with the winners announced at an Awards ceremony on 18th November 2021.

Please see below for full details of Entry Criteria and Terms & Conditions for entry.

Enter now

Entry criteria

Criteria for entry in the 2021 awards.

The judges

A selection of esteemed Australian journalists are judging this year's awards. A panel of three will judge each of the six categories.

Judging process and guidelines

All entries will be assessed initially for eligibility by representatives of Amnesty International Australia.

Terms & Conditions

Terms & Conditions for entry into the 2021 Awards.

Media awards background

Amnesty International Australia's Media Awards started in 2014.