Finalists announced in Amnesty International Australia 2021 Media Awards

Amnesty International today has the pleasure of announcing the finalists in the 2021 Media Awards, which celebrate excellence in human rights reporting.

“A free press is one of the greatest safeguards against tyranny and corruption. This years’ entries from some of Australia’s finest media practitioners show just how important the media is in uncovering, reporting and commenting on issues authorities might not want you to know,” Amnesty International Australia Media Lead, Danielle Veldre, said.

“I am ever grateful to the judges for their thoughtful and insightful contributions to the process and encourage everyone to review the finalists’ work because it is exceptional,” she said.

The Amnesty International Media Award finalists, in no particular order, are:


Indigenous Issues Reporting:

Print/Online Media:



  • ‘Embassy Guard’: Lucy Murray, World News, SBS
  • ‘Inside Myanmar’s Crackdown: State of Fear’: Drew Ambrose, Ali Fowle, Nick Olle & Sharon Roobol; Al Jazeera English
  • ‘The Australian-born children the government wants to deport because they have a disability’: Jessica Longbottom, ABC

No award was given in the Photography category.

Thank you to the Judges of this years’ awards:

  • Cathy Wilcox, The Sydney Morning Herald
  • Fiona Katauskas, Freelance/Eureka Street
  • Jon Kudelka, The Saturday Paper
  • Larissa Behrendt, ABC Radio – Speaking Out
  • Miriam Corowa, ABC News 24’s Weekend Breakfast
  • Jodan Perry, NITV
  • Nick Moir, Sydney Morning Herald
  • Syliva Liber, Illawarra Mercury
  • Jeff Darmanin, The Daily Telegraph & The Sunday Telegraph
  • Lisa Davies, The Sydney Morning Herald
  • Charis Chang,
  • Josh Butler, The New Daily
  • Martin Walters, 2SER
  • Alexander Barwick, ABC Radio Alice Springs
  • Fauziah Ibrahim, ABC News Breakfast
  • Lindy Kerin, NITV
  • Stela Todorovic, 10 News

The winners will be announced on Thursday, 18 November at the Media Awards online ceremony.