Congratulations to 2017 Media Awards Finalists

Amnesty International today has the pleasure of announcing the finalists in the 2017 Media Awards, which celebrate excellence in human rights reporting.

“In this fourth year of the awards, we were thrilled to receive a record number of entries from commercial, public and community media outlets across Australia,” said Media Coordinator Anita Harvey.

“The 18 judges, all experienced practitioners in the Australian media industry, found it especially challenging this year to whittle down the shortlist. Amnesty thanks them for their expertise and commitment to selecting these finalists from such a brilliant field of entrants.”

Amnesty International is delighted to announce the following finalists:


  • ‘Long Way Round’: Andrew Dyson, The Age

  • ‘Us and Them’: Glen Le Lievre, Crikey

  • ‘Reforming Racial Discrimination Laws’: Andrew Weldon, The Big Issue

  • ‘Low-cost Housing, London’: Cathy Wilcox, The Age & The Sydney Morning Herald

Indigenous Issues Reporting:

  • ‘Death In Kalgoorlie’: Sarah Dingle and Wendy Carlisle, ABC Radio National, Background Briefing

  • Through American Eyes’: John Eligon, Suzanne Smith, Gregory Nelson, Diana Cave, Ron Foley, Alastair Harris, Vicky Biorac, Chelsea Bond, Damien Cave, Tim Leslie, ABC and New York Times

  • ‘Aviation fuel sniffing in Arnhem Land sparks public health emergency’: Jano Gibson, ABC

  • The Ms Dhu Inquest’: Calla Wahlquist, The Guardian


  • Mosul’: Kate Geraghty, Fairfax Media

  • ‘Home[Less]’: Chris Hopkins, The Sunday Age


  • ‘Voice of Manus’: Behrouz Boochani, The Guardian & The Saturday Paper

  • ‘In a time of plenty, she dies of hunger’: Sally Sara and Dingani Masuku, ABC News Online

  • ‘The Nauru Files’: Guardian Australia’s Nauru Files reporting team, The Guardian

  • ‘Migrant worker exploitation: the fruit pickers’: Nick McKenzie and Richard Baker, Fairfax Media


  • ‘Fallen Angels’: Heather Jarvis, Margaret Simons, Dave Tacon and Lyn Gallacher, ABC Radio National, Earshot

  • ‘Exploitation of Vietnamese students rampant among Melbourne and Sydney businesses’: Trinh Nguyen and Olivia (Ngoc) Nguyen, SBS Radio – Vietnamese Program

  • ‘Somaliland Children’: Sally Sara and Dingani Masuku, ABC radio, Correspondents Report

  • ‘Death In Kalgoorlie’: Sarah Dingle and Wendy Carlisle, ABC Radio National, Background Briefing


  • ‘From Miscarriage to Murder’: Evan Williams, Calliste Weitenberg, Lottie Gammon and Micah McGown, SBS, Dateline

  • Forced to Marry’: Elise Potaka, Tim Anastasi, Joel Stillone, “The Feed”, SBS Viceland

  • ‘The Yazidi – People of the Peacock Angel’: Olivia Rousset, Ipek Tasli, Wendy Boynton and Danielle Akayan, ABC TV, Compass

  • ‘Six Days in Somaliland’: Sally Sara and Dingani Masuku, ABC News

The winners will be announced on Wednesday 1 November at the Media Awards ceremony at Darlinghurst Theatre in Sydney.