Winners of the 2016 Amnesty International Australia Media Awards

Tonight Amnesty International announced the winners of the 2016 Amnesty International Media Awards, recognising excellence in reporting on human rights issues in the Australian media over the past year.

The winners of this year’s award categories are:


The winner of the Photography category is Andrew Quilty for his photo essay, ‘The Man on the Operating Table’ published on ABC Foreign Correspondent.


Mags King, Fairfax
John Donegan, Racing Victoria
Daniel Berehulak, Photojournalist


Sophie McNeill and Fouad Abu Gosh are the winners of the radio category for their piece, ‘Voices from Inside Besieged Syria’, produced for ABC Radio National.


Adam Shirley, 666 ABC Canberra
Angela Catterns AM, Broadcaster, Writer, Podcaster
Madonna King, Journalist and Author


The winner of the Cartoon category is Glen Le Lievre for his piece ‘Door’ published in The Sydney Morning Herald.


Fiona Katauskas, Cartoonist and Illustrator
Cathy Wilcox, Fairfax
Robert Phiddian, Flinders University


The winner of the Print/Online category is Jess Hill for her story ‘Suffer the Children: Trouble in the Family Court’, edited by Nick Feik for The Monthly.


Jewel Topsfield, Fairfax
Karen Barlow, Huffington Post Australia
Patrick Keneally, The Guardian Australia

Indigenous Reporting

The winner of the Indigenous Reporting category is Sarah Dingle’s story for ABC Background Briefing ‘WA’s Stolen Wages Shame’.


Phillipa McDermott, ABC
Catherine Liddle, NITV
Rudi Maxwell, Koori Mail


The winner of the Television category is Sarah Ferguson, Nial Fulton & Ivan O’Mahoney for their documentary ‘Hitting Home’, In Films for the ABC.


Julia Baird, ABC
David Speers, Sky News Australia
Hugh Riminton, Ten Eyewitness News


“Amnesty International congratulates all of the winners of the 2016 Media Awards for their exceptional human rights reporting and recognises the critical role journalists, photographers and cartoonists play in exposing human rights abuses,” said National Director, Claire Mallinson.

The six winners received an exquisite sculptural piece inspired by Amnesty International’s iconic flame, created by Sydney artist Cesar Cueva, director of ‘Courtesy of the Artist’.

The Award ceremony took place at Golden Age Cinema in Surry Hills, Sydney. See all of the Award finalists.